About W. Somerset Maugham

Works Online

A Man with a Conscience
German Harry
Mr. Know All
The Lotus Eater
The Moon and Sixpence
The Outstation


1874 Born in paris

1907 Lady Frederick

01/01/1915 Of Human Bondage, the story of the painful growth to self-realization of a lonely, sensitive young physician with a clubfoot.

1919 The Moon and Sixpence, based on the life of the French painter Paul Gauguin

1921 The Circle

1921 The Trembling of a Leaf

1923 Our Betters

1927 The Constant Wife

1928 Ashenden: or The British Agent

1928 Returning to settle in France in 1928, Maugham bought a villa in St. Jean Cap Ferrat on the French Riviera called Mauresque (a word meaning `of Moorish style`) where he enjoyed a near royal lifestyle.

1930 Cakes and Ale

1931 First Person Singular

1933 Ah King

1938 travels to India for one year

1944 The Razorā??s Edge, dealing with a young Americanā??s search for spiritual fulfillment

1948 Quartet

1955 The Art of Fiction: An Introduction to Ten Novels and Their Authors in his later work Maugham limited himself primarily to essays, this book is one example

1965 death




Attention Students

Wondering how to cite this page? Click here for the proper citation for this page, following the guidelines set for Humanities citations from Columbia Guide to Online Style by Janice R. Walker

Considering donating your report on W. Somerset Maugham. For more information, email the webmaster


Want to stay current with what's happening with us? Sign up for our newsletter, and get notified, once a month, of all the new books and authors we have added to the classicauthors.net family.

To subscribe, enter your email address and click Go.

Of course, your email address is never shared with anyone, and is never used except for the sole purpose outline above.

© 2015 Cyber Studios Inc.